Recipes #5 Simple Sponge Cake & Icing

It’s almost Halloween and even though  I’m not too big a trick or treater, I quite like to take the occasion to make another cake. I quite enjoy the good old sponge cake because you can do almost anything with it. It tastes good on it’s own but anything added will no doubt make it even better.
With Halloween in mind, and having watched a couple Halloween-themed-cake tutorials, I decided I was going to add lots of food colouring and icing. I’d never made butter icing before, so I had no idea on quantities which ended up with my cake-icing ratio being about 40-60 . The sugar rush was incredible, and it tasted very nice, but it didn’t quite end up as I originally planned. Here’s a couple links to what I thought I would be making.

Bright Rainbow Cake 
Halloween Rainbow Cake 

Although it would have been easier and more obvious, I decided not to use a cake mix. Because I’m always on a tight budget I figured making the cake mix from scratch would be cheaper (flour, eggs and sugar aren’t expensive…) and more fun to do. I even went out to buy a proper cake mold, a rubber spatula and one of those whisk things. I love over preparing for anything that isn’t really that important 😛

By the way, I didn’t take any photo’s during the process quite frankly because it was too embarrassing I couldn’t be bothered. I’m such a great blogger 😉

The baking didn’t start off very well as some of the guys had eaten eggs I needed for the cake mix. I tried increasing the amount of mix I had by adding milk and more flour. I think that is what stopped the cake from rising a lot in the oven. However, I decided not to let that stop me, divided it all into some bowls and added lots and lots of food colouring.

Crazy colours everywhere.

I used red, blue and black which looked really cool and vibrant.

Anyway, once that was in the oven, all warm and snuggly, I started making the icing. I already bought some chocolate ready-made icing but thought it would be ‘cool’ to make some red icing to put between two layers of cake. I made SO MUCH ICING. My arms were dead from mixing all the cake mix and icing and whisking and spatuling and what not, it wasn’t funny anymore.

So when the cake finally came out of the oven and it was a little bit on the tiny side, I decided not to let it stop me from using all my icing. I cut it carefully in half, smudged red icing inside, put the other half on top and covered the entire thing in chocolate icing…  Here’s an artistic rendering of my cake… The ratio’s are very off.But as I said, even though it wouldn’t win a beauty contest, it tasted very very nice. I know what I did wrong and I won’t do it again.

I’ll just give you a quick list of what to use for sponge cake and butter cream icing. I found it quite hard to find a simple to the point list of what is needed.

Simple Sponge Cake

I used this recipe for sponge mixture even though I wasn’t planning on making pistachio cake.

  • 225g flour
  • 225g sugar
  • 225g butter
  • 4 eggs
  •  2 teaspoons of baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract
And then just mix it all together. I think they advise you to add things in bit by bit, starting with the sugar and the butter, but I added everything at once and it usually works fine& saves time!

Creamy Butter Cream Icing

I used this recipe for the butter cream icing. In times of doubt, I always go to the BBC 😛 Adjusted the measurements though…

  • 150g (soft) butter
  • 300g icing sugar
  • 1-2 tablespoons of milk
  • half a teaspoon of vanilla extract
Once again, they tell you to add stuff together gradually but in all honesty, I didn’t read that, threw it all together at once and it worked fine. Bit rough on the arms though… If you’re adding food colouring like I did, you may need some more icing sugar.
So yeah, I hope you will make many a celebratory cake in the future!
Lots of love
Eva D.
Leave a Reply

