Recipes #2 The most chocolaty Brownies you will ever make!

Best-ever brownies

This recipe is ‘officially’ from the BBC Good Food website but I decided to transcribe it for you so that you too can make it. Here’s the link to the original recipe.

So, I made these Brownies first after I already spent 5 hours in the kitchen to make a chicken pie I will surely include in this blog! I shouldn’t have taken 5 hours but I enjoy spending a long time on food so I just stretched the time I could be in there as much as I could without the men complaining about their hunger and such.

But, in all seriousness, these brownies are amazing. Mine turned out very very gooey, like chocolate fudge cake, but gooeyer. I can’t even explain how chocolaty it is. Pour some cream over it, add some fresh fruit and I’m pretty sure that if you’d present it to that guy who decides who goes in to heaven and who doesn’t, he’d let you in, no matter how big a sinner you are!

These brownies aren’t food, they are an experience, something you will appreciate, something you will tell your grandchildren about. But they won’t believe you, so just refer them to here and I’ll tell them what to do, just like I will tell you!

Brownies so good you’ll want to live in them.

What you will need:

Foods:

  • 185g unsalted butter
  • 185g dark chocolate
  • 85g plain flour
  • 40g cocoa powder
  • 50g white chocolate
  • 50g milk chocolate (I added almost a full bar of both white and milk in the end, just because I love chocolate so f*cking much!)
  • 3 large eggs
  • 275g caster sugar
Tools:
  • A oven-proof dish (pyrex dish?) This is where I went wrong. Well, it ended up great, but not quite browny-ish. I chose a deeper, smaller pyrex dish to put my goo in. If you want firm brownies and not a choclate mush, then go for a shallow but bigger dish. I think they will still be soft inside, but really, what I had was like sauce. Still tasted amazing though.
  • The recipe suggests a 20cm shallow square tin. If you have one of those, you’re settled.
  • You’ll need a little sauce pan and a bowl that can sit comfortably on top of it. The bowl has to be big enough to fit in the butter and dark choclate.
  • A chopping board and a sharp big knife (to chop up the chocolate)
  • You’re going to need another 2 larger bowls. I don’t have that many bowls so often, I just use pans. When you are going to mix sugar and liquid things, maybe make sure they are not in non-stick pans, because the sugar might scratch them.
Start Cooking
Right, basically, I’m going to give you the same directions as the link does, but I will tell you what I did (lacking the tools they say I need). I know there are a lot of steps here. I really just chopped up the steps the other recipe gives you so that it’s easier to find where you’re at if you’re looking away to perform your magic.
  1. Cut up your butter and chocolate into smallish pieces. It doesn’t matter that much how small, but let’s say small enough for it to fit nicely into your bowl.
  2. Fill the small sauce pan with a couple inches of water and rest the bowl on top. Make sure the bowl doesn’t touch the water. (think it will heat up the chocolate too fast and won’t make it melt prettily). Now, put heat on low and let the butter melt together with the chocolate. Stir ever now and again. TASTE!
    If you don’t have the time to work the magic with a saucepan, you can do it in the microwave by covering the bowl loosely with clingfilm and letting the microwave handle it for 2 minutes on high power. (personally, I don’t trust microwaves with my precious precious chocolate, but hey, if the BBC says it’s ok…)
  3. Let molten chocolate cool. If desperate you can put it in the fridge for a little while, but not too long. Use your best judgement…
  4. Meanwhile, turn oven on to  fan 160C/conventional180C/gas 4.
  5. Butter your tin/dish. If you have that paper baking parchment stuff, that’s perfect too!
  6. Now, if you have a sieve, that’s great! You can go on and sieve the cocoa powder and flour into a big bowl and mix it all up. If you haven’t the access to such luxuries (like me) you can do what I did: pour them in the bowl and run your fingers through them. If you encounter any lumps, just loosen them up with your hands. probably best if your hands are dry doing this.
  7. Now comes a really fun part. Put that bowl to the side and get out your chopping gear. Chop up the slabs of white and milk chocolate into little chunks. These are just going to be added to your brownie mix later on as chocolate chunks so make them as big as you want to encounter them once everything is done. TASTE CHOCOLATE TO CHECK IF TASTY ENOUGH
  8. Break the eggs into another large bowl/pan and add in the sugar. The other recipe tells you to mix it with an electric mixer on it’s highest setting. Yeah, I don’t have one of those. I have a blender-stick and a wooden spoon… So go to town on your mixture with with those, or anything like it and I’m sure you’ll end up with something mixed quite well. It probably won’t be ‘thick and creamy’ like what they tell you you will have, but it won’t taste any less! If it’s pale and increased in volume, you’re good.
  9. Now, take your melted chocolate and gently pour it into your sugary egg shake. They tell you to be gentle so you don’t lose any air. I did it quite gently but I don’t think it made a difference because there wasn’t much air in it to begin with.
  10. Stir stir stir
  11. Add in cocoa flour powder, slowly, bit by bit. Add chocolate chunks too.
  12. Stir stir stir. TASTE
  13. Now just put it all in your tin or dish or whatever it is you’ve got. VOILA
They tell you to check after 25 minutes by shaking your dish a little and see if it wobbles in the middle. If it does, leave it in for a little longer. As I said, our result was very wobbly, but god damn, it was so tasty!
I don’t think I’ve every had as much chocolate in one ‘course’ before. It felt so great!
Anyway, I know it’s quite an elaborate recipe but really, really, it’s so nice. Try it!
xx
Eva D
Leave a Reply

