Versatile Blogger Award

If you have read my previous posts, you know that I’m pretty new in the blogging-sphere. Like a seven-year old in the play ground, I look at what the older kids do and try to adjust to ‘the norm’. I didn’t know how long I should wait until other bloggers would read my stuff, but I must have done something right. Today was officially my blogs 3rd day up-and-running and I was nominated with the Versatile Blogger Award!

Now, this came as a complete surprise, and that’s what made me thus the happier! Even though I didn’t know what this nomination was for exactly, the word ‘award‘ made me a little jumpy and red. I was nominated by the lovely Sylvia Morice (who inspired me to write my creepy crawlies article) who in her turn was nominated by Ginger Couturier. Now if I look at their blogs, I still don’t quite understand why I was considered appropriate for this nomination. Their blogs are longer running, they have more experience in writing and are generally prettier (I’m a girl, I can tell ;))

Apparently, there are some rules that come along with this honourable business (after all, nothing is free in this world- especially not things that are enjoyable)

The Versatile Blogger Award Rules…

1. Thank the person who awarded you and link back to them in your post.
2. Tell 7 Random facts about yourself.
3. Pass the award on to 7 new found (or old favorite) bloggers.
4. Contact each blogger you want to pass the award on to and let them know you’ve done so, and let the giver of your award know you accept it… or not.
I have already written to Sylvia and linked to her and Ginger’s blog (I felt like I should be nice ;)) so that’s the first point checked.
I should now name 7 random facts about myself. Very well, because you’ve been so nice to me, I’ll tell you 7 of my ‘secrets’. Use them wisely.
  1. I’m a Dutch girl raised in Belgium (Eupen), France (Paris), Germany (Munich) and the Netherlands (Maastricht) so I speak 4 languages if you exclude some very very basic Italian.
  2. I can bite my toenails… That doesn’t mean that I do.
  3. I don’t eat ANYTHING that has ANYTHING to do with the sea/ocean for 2 reasons. The first reason is that I read a book on Cod once (yes, but only because I like the environment and I like our earth) and the way it explained the catching of the fish really put me off seafood all together. The second reason is that since I discovered fish-fingers are made out of real fish, my taste for fish has disappeared completely. I give it a go occasionally but honestly, the last time I tried sushi I had to run to the toilet ninja-style.
  4. I wish I never gave up dancing and gymnastics. I used to be great. Well, it made me feel great to be flexible. It made me feel like if I was ever in a dangerous situation, I could just flic-flac my way out. I don’t know if that’s true, I was never in the situation that I had to, because when I was 15, my dubble-jointed knees bent the wrong way and I had both my meniscus‘ half removed. So, I’m a little bit less me, wondering about what could have been…
  5. I am a tripple, soon-to-be-quadruple aunt. My first Nephew was born when I was 13, and from there on it has seemed to be a competition between my older sibling about who can conceive the next child. After Max, we had to wait 3 years to get Felix, who was soon followed by Dex (1.5 years later) and now the fourth is on the way. I call it project X, for obvious reasons.
  6. I study Journalism at Edinburgh Napier University and just finished my first year. When I ‘grow up’ (secretly I’m 8 years old) I want to make history and environmental (possibly wildlife) documentaries or be a photojournalist. Or both.
  7. I find Pomegranates one of the most amazing things in the world. It’s a fruit, with fruit inside! And when you tap it, tiny fruits fall out! And they are red and go with ANYTHING! And they are tasty! Awesome…
  8. Here’s an extra for you: 
I hope that pleased you. I feel a little vulnerable but let us get back to our sheep (a French expression I always found laughable.)
The next bit of the award involves me nominating 7 other bloggers.
So that’s 1,2,3,4,5,6 and 7 new bloggers for you! So I’m off to go and spread awareness.
Thanks so much for this award, I know I will have sweet dreams tonight!
Lots of Love,
Eva
5 thoughts on “Versatile Blogger Award

  1. I just read your ‘acceptance’ post and it is wonderful! I’m going to visit the blogs you nominated as soon as I have a chance. Keep up the great work–and I don’t think it matters how ‘new’ you are to the blogging world, only that what you have to say captures peoples’ interest.
    All the best,
    Sylvia

  2. What a lovely post and blog for that matter. And congratulations on your award–that’s exciting! I’m also studying journalism at UCLA and I think blogging is the perfect way to stay active with our writing chops. Thanks for the fun facts!

    Keep shining,
    The Sunny Girl, Lauren Cook
    http://www.thesunnygirl.com

    • Thank you 🙂 I hope you’re enjoying your studies! They tell us that blogging and tweeting and all that sort of thing is vital for the journalist of today.
      I just mainly enjoy doing it 🙂

      Lots of Love
      Eva D.

Leave a Reply

