Creepy Crawlies

I’ve been pretty active online today. Compared to my previous internet history, which contained mainly Facebook, YouTube and StumbleUpon, my Google Chrome has been burning hot surfing from one site to the next.

After I created this blog, I decided to do some research. Now, I know how to use the internet to my advantage, but I’d never taken the time to sit down and have a read around the millions of blogs that are out there. I can now see just how spectacular a mistake that was. On the main page of WordPress, I came across Sylvia

Morice’s article called “I Have Met The Enemy and She Is >Mosquito<“ . Destined to pursue my cause of getting familiar with the world of blogging, I clicked and started reading.
I immediately noticed how familiar the blogging sphere can be. She instantly invited her readers into her house, describing it in some detail. She tells us about her recent problems with mosquitoes and the measures she’s taken to rid herself of the many swarms attacking her again and again.

But not only does she write in a familiar style with an inspiring sense of humour, she also offers information and quotes to angle her article from entertaining to informative and interesting.

I’m aware that this is all quite analytical and dry, but I am going somewhere so bear with me.
I thought that surely, if she can write about a mosquito in a house, surely I can find some inspiration! After all, I am a student! My life is practically booming with excitement and adventures!

So I went to my old friend Facebook. With more than 500 friends from all sorts of places, surely something has something to tell me! Thankfully, my best friends sister had just commented on my status. In her comment she linked to a poem! Strangely, it had nothing what so ever to do with my status update, but that is irrelevant. It was a poem about centipedes by Ogden Nash.

I objurgate the centipede, 
A bug we do not really need. 
At sleepy-time he beats a path 
Straight to the bedroom or the bath. 
You always wallop where he’s not, 
Or, if he is, he makes a spot.

Because of its link with Sylvia’s blog, I started thinking about insects. It immediately creeped me out. See, I have always, always, had arachnophobia. I don’t care much for any insect, but mosquitoes and centipedes can continue living their lives as they want them to. Spiders can’t. Spiders must go.

It has gotten worse since I’ve been living on my own but something about the way they move has always freaked me out. I know they are useful, I know they eat other annoying creepy crawlies but I don’t care. Apparently women are much more likely to be arachnophobes than men, which I think is unfair. I’d like to see men honestly scream every time the tiniest dot scatters across the wall .The only thing my friends want to do related to spiders is make me watch ‘Arachnophobia‘ and then probably run their hands across my back in a spidery manner.

Uggh, I get shivers just thinking about it.

They say, the way to get over it is to confront your fears. I am not confronting anything!
They say, spiders are more scared of me than I am of them. Bullcrap. 1) They don’t call it a phobia for nothing and 2) spiders seem to seek me out. When I was a little girl, I would often find spiders on my PJ’s or overalls or hair. Later in life, they seemed to hide on my mascara and above my bed and piano. I would call my dad to come eliminate the little bastards, but as soon as he was gone, 5 would crawl out of the tiniest spaces just…staring at me. The next morning- they would be gone. That is the worst part.
When they were in the shower, they told me to just let them drown.

The devil doesn’t drown. He will wait quietly until the rain stops, and then slowly, with his long, thin legs climb out of the shower drain, follow me to my room and then JUMP ON ME!

It is not an irrational fear.

Apparently there is a Catalonian saying:
“Where the girls are there are no spider’s webs.”
Why would that be true? Do we naturally repel spiders? Do we live in round areas with no anchor points for them to tie their webs on? Or, and this is what I think, is it a sexist remark? Women clean. Not if ‘they’ knew me. Besides, I heard spiders love clean places…

I don’t know, I wish it were true.
However, thanks to Sylvia’s blog, I have now spent over 45 minutes thinking and researching insects, which is something I’d usually avoid.
I suppose its some kind of harsh, sorority introduction into the life of Blogging. Have I passed your tests?

Well, it’s been a long day, so I hope you enjoyed the read!

Lots of Love,
Eva D.

4 thoughts on “Creepy Crawlies

  1. Hahaha, because of this article i’m now looking around in my room trying to figure out if there are any spiders around. I totally agree. They ARE freaky.

  2. Eva–I actually just finished reading your entire blog post, and you really made me chuckle…I don’t like spiders either–or other creepy-crawlies or things-that -go-bump-in-the-night. And I don’t think we’re alone…from the comments on my post, lots of people women (and men) don’t like them….
    Keep up the good work. I’m nominating you for the Versatile Blogger Award today. Check out my site to see what it entails and let me know if you accept the nomination!
    Cheers!
    Sylvia

  3. Pingback: Versatile Blogger Award « intentionallypoor

Leave a Reply

